The Official Portal to the Madness of Dark Fiction Author Patrick C. Greene

Better Late Than Never

Tag – I’m it.

Recently I was invited to participate in a blog hop, but didn’t manage to get the blog posted in time. ( I’d blame it on my wife/editor, except that she’s typing this right now and has decided she will accept no blame.) So, here it is…better late than never.

writing blog11. What Am I Working On?

My current project in progress, UNDER WICKED SKY, is an apocalyptic siege story that has to do with a situation in which law and order has essentially begun to break down as global warming becomes a more serious problem. The main character is a veteran of the current middle eastern conflicts, a drifter who just wants to get out of the sun until dark so he crashes a bed and breakfast that has been outfitted with cutting edge comfort technology, thus making it a valuable commodity to certain outside interests, as it were.

My vampire novel THE CRIMSON CALLING is about a tough ex-military chick who is recruited by a cabal of vampires for a coming war with a separate faction which seeks to subjugate mankind. It’s in late drafts and editing with Hobbes End now, with CC being the first of a series that will span several historic eras. We really hope to have that out by October.

Third is THE OUTSIDE MAN, a web series which follows the current Hong Kong trend of martial arts opuses with heavily dramatic elements. It will be shooting in my hometown of Asheville North Carolina with all local cast and crew. We’re aiming for intense fight scenes and emotionally involving characters.

Finally, an illustrated novella titled PIECES OF MIRACLE is in the works. Text is done, and the illustrator, Audrey Lynn Brennan, is finishing the illustrations–that is, when she’s not taking care of her beautiful newborn! It’s a disturbing, E.C. Comics-esque tale of an unsolved crime, a girl on the cusp of adulthood with very special abilities, and a nightmarish creature.

writing blog22. How Does My Work Differ from Others of Its Genre?

All art is the result of its creator’s experiences as filtered through their personalities, and in general, my experiences are unique to me. For me, magic is very real, though I don’t view it in a traditional sense. It’s an elusive, complex and fickle element, over which mankind has long since lost any real control or understanding. When I say magic, I mean the mysterious, the spiritual, the unexplained, The Unknowable. Therefore, even when I’m writing something very much grounded in the rock-solid reality upon which we all more or less agree, there is still a deep underlying sense of magic–which is madness, which is truth.

3. Why Do I Write What I Do?

I’m really struggling with this question, if mostly because the most honest answer has become cliche’. I love horror and that’s my main fixation obviously, but I try to do more than that, in terms of both genre and the confines of horror itself. So the answer is that I write horror because it seems very real to me, very immediate and very intimate because its characters are living (or dying, or killing) in a heightened state of awareness, which is what fear boils down to, after all. Paradoxically, our attempts to present something “real” -gritty dramas or TV reality shows- seem false, forced, even pointless at times. If we are not trying to peer past the veil then what are we trying to accomplish?

writing blog34. How Does My Writing Process Work?

The idea or concept usually comes at some inopportune time, drawing my mind away from more mundane but unavoidable matters, then I have to force myself to remember just its most basic elements, bare bones plot and whatever has formed in regards to the main character, until I can get somewhere and write down or email myself the concept. It might languish there for months or years. especially during a period like now when I’m busy finishing other projects.

As for getting down to business, it’s not really an interesting process. I have a night job that allows me a lot of free time so I sit down, turn on some music, and write every night for a few hours. The music can be anything from metal -anybody who knows me will tell you I’m a devout metalhead- to dark ambient or horror soundtracks. The fact that I’m writing at night is helpful; I can always step out and get a little taste of the dark.

 

And there you have it. My process. I hope you will check out some other fantastic authors including Allison M Dickson, Bryan Alaspa, James Glass, Suzi M, and Michael G. Williams.


 

Some dark serendipity plopped a young Patrick C. Greene in front of a series of ever stranger films-and experiences-in his formative years, leading to a unique viewpoint. His odd interests have led to pursuits in film acting, paranormal investigation, martial arts, quantum physics, bizarre folklore and eastern philosophy. These elements flavor his screenplays and fiction works, often leading to strange and unexpected detours designed to keep viewers and readers on their toes.

Literary influences range from Poe to Clive Barker to John Keel to a certain best selling Bangorian. Suspense, irony, and outrageously surreal circumstances test the characters who populate his work, taking them and the reader on a grandly bizarre journey into the furthest realms of darkness. The uneasy notion that reality itself is not only relative but indeed elastic- is the hallmark of Greene’s writing.

Living in the rural periphery of Asheville North Carolina with his wife, youngest son and an ever-growing army of cats, Greene still enjoys acting and fight choreography, and trains in martial arts when he’s not giving birth to demons via his pen and keyboard.

In addition to his novel PROGENY, and the short story collection DARK DESTINIES, Greene has several FILM projects in the works, and just finished writing his second novel – THE CRIMSON CALLING -the first in the action-adventure vampire trilogy, The Sanguinarian Council.

Leave a Reply

