The Official Portal to the Madness of Dark Fiction Author Patrick C. Greene

The Harbinger Awaits

Today we welcome David James Bright to the PCG Blog.

David is the author of the new release from Hobbes End Publishing

 HARBINGER

Harbinger_Cover_582x900

When a mysterious fog sets upon the small town of Rowley, Pennsylvania, its residents quickly find themselves isolated from the world. As the thick haze envelopes their once peaceful town, all communication systems fail and residents begin to go missing.  As order gives way panic, the town devolves into violent lawlessness, every citizen with a score to settle acting out their darkest impulses hidden by the cloak of fog.

Amidst the chaos, Ben Dowling realizes something is terribly wrong. It’s not just how people are acting crazy; there’s something more. There’s something out there butchering people. Something that is evil and vicious. 

Something that is hungry.

Ben and his childhood friend Elise venture out into the unknown and confront the shadowy figure behind the mist. Dodging the chaos in the streets they have only each other to depend upon as they try to save their hometown from complete destruction.

The Harbinger awaits them.


 

THE INTERVIEW

What kind of music do you listen to for inspiration?

I don’t listen to music often when I write, but there are times I like to turn on classical music as I’m typing away. It is both soothing and relaxing, and I find it loosens my mind up and the words come flowing out.

Have you ever started a project, felt it run out of steam and had to abandon it? 

I’ve had a few projects that I started, just toying around with them and seeing where they would go, and I lost steam and nothing came of them. Only one time did I approach a project seriously and run out of gas. I believe I got 10,000 words or so in and then the well went dry. It’s strange – I still had the plot outlined and knew where the story was going, I just couldn’t sit down and write it. I have that project as well as the others saved in case I ever feel the urge to complete them.

What’s the most shocking book or story you’ve ever read?

I’m currently reading Haunted by Chuck Palahinuk, and that already takes the cake. I thought some of my stuff was vile – now I’m not even sure if I can compare.

Do you remember a particular moment or incident that made you decide to be a writer

My freshman year of college, when I attended the University of Pittsburgh, I met someone who would end up becoming a dear friend of mine. We were talking and I told him I was a writer. I told him this because I’d come up with story ideas, start a few casually, and never really take them seriously. It dawned on me then that I was lying to him – I wasn’t a writer, I was a dilettante. In that moment I realized I should harness my creativity and truly become a writer. I couldn’t let it all go to waste.

Do you have a certain space and time set aside for writing or is it more of a free-form process?

Definitely more of a free-form process. If certain days look like they will be free I’ll try to get writing in but by no means do I schedule what I’ll do, how much I’ll do, etc. I’m always thinking about my projects, so when the inspiration particularly strikes that’s when I try to get as much done as I can.

How would you describe your writing style?

It’s certainly evolved since I wrote Harbinger. I think it’s interesting that the public is going to get to read Harbinger and it’s style, when I have four other completed works that all vary very differently. My style, especially with Harbinger, is very literary, somewhat poetic. Very verbose, descriptive of features and thoughts, and using beautiful words often. As I’ve progressed as a writer, however, I’ve tried to cut down on the density of my writer, and my most recent projects are much leaner, allowing the reader to do more of the work. I think there’s much to be appreciated in both approaches.

 What other sorts of themes or genres would you like to explore?

I’ve been writing in the horror and transgressive fiction genres. I’m starting to dive more into transgressive and I’m loving it. As for other genres, I’m interested in writing a fantasy novel. I have a few concepts in mind (one of which was the project I abandoned) and would love to break into that genre.

Please briefly describe your path to publication.

It was long one. As stated, Harbinger was my first serious attempt at a novel. After a few months I landed representation with Trident Media Group, a large and well known agency. I thought my journey was over – I thought I made it!

The journey had only just begun. After getting rejected from Random House, Penguin, and a few others, I nearly had a deal with Amazon’s 47North. After going back and forth on it for a few weeks, the editor eventually decided to pass. Months later my agency left the agency and no other agent there desired to represent a horror author. The relationship with Trident Media Group ended (after about a year) and I took my work to Hobbes End, who were enthusiastic about it. Working with them has been a true pleasure.

Who are your favorite fictional antagonist and protagonist and what was it about them that struck a chord for you?

I’m going to go the Palahinuk route again here and say the narrator/Tyler Durden from Fight Club. Same person, technically the same character, definitely the protagonist and the antagonist. I enjoy the jaded view of the world that comes from the narrator and his observations about people, society, and their habits. I love Tyler Durden’s philosophy and methodology. I think both characters really provide stunning insight into human nature in very different ways; that’s why that book will always be one of my favorites.

Aside from writing, what is your favorite artistic medium?

I enjoy paintings. No ability in creating them, but I have a few artist friends and I always love viewing/discussing their works. I also enjoy museum trips to observe paintings and learn the history behind them. It’s the one talent I lack I sorely wish I had.


 

face1David James Bright is an author of horror and transgressive fiction. His debut novel, Harbinger, has received acclaim from such authors as New York Times Best Seller Jonathan Maberry. He is currently a graduate student at the University of Scranton and resides in northeastern Pennsylvania.

 

Leave a Reply

