The Official Portal to the Madness of Dark Fiction Author Patrick C. Greene

Patrick C. Greene Unveils Gary Buettner

wiw NEW COVERGary Buettner is the author of the story

WHITEOUT

in the new anthology from Sekhmet Press

WRAPPED IN WHITE

Thirteen Tales of Spectres, Ghosts, and Spirits

Hi Gary! Thank you for joining me today. Let’s kick off this interview with the most important question. Have you ever encountered a ghost?

What kind of music do you listen to for inspiration?

Alternative

Have you ever started a project, felt it run out of steam and had to abandon it?

Constantly.

What’s the most shocking book or story you’ve ever read?

The short story The Sixth Sentinel by Poppy Z. Brite.

Do you remember a particular moment or incident that made you decide to be a writer?

Eighth grade Social Studies, we were asked to write a little piece about the disappearance of the Roanoke colonies.  Most everyone wrote “I think….”pieces, but I wrote a mini-suspense story.  The teacher read it aloud and the other kids were enraptured.  I felt like a magician that pulled off a successful trick.  I was hooked from then on.

Do you have a certain space and time set aside for writing or is it more of a free-form process?

I wrote a ton when my computer was on the kitchen table briefly.  I write when I can, though.

How would you describe your writing style?

Minimalistic.  I’m still working Raymond Carver out of my system from college creative writing.  Good times.  I have to work extra hard to expand my stories and flesh things out.

What other sorts of themes or genres would you like to explore?

I’d like to look at quieter more psychological horror.  I enjoy a “run around and scream” horror, but there are other toys to play with and I’d like to expand my abilities.

Please briefly describe your path to publication.

I got my first rejection and my first acceptance on the same day.  I was hooked on submitting from that point.  More recently, I’ve challenged myself to submit something to every call for submissions that I come across.  My fingers are crossed perpetually.

Who are your favorite fictional antagonist and protagonist and what was it about them that struck a chord for you?

I think Thomas Harris’s RED DRAGON has a great protagonist/antagonist  combination.  Will Graham is tortured by his own creativity and ability to get into another’s negative head space.  Francis Dolarhyde is a very complex villain.  A cold-hearted killer, but on the verge of getting better and becoming human.  And somewhere in between you have Hannibal Lecter.

Aside from writing, what is your favorite artistic medium?

I enjoy crafting.  I sew.  I’ve made stuffed monsters and sold them online.  I also occasionally dabble in wood-working.

Thanks again for joining me today and letting us get to know you better. I wish you the best of luck with Wrapped In White and all of your future endeavours.

***

012Gary Buettner haunts the suburbs of Northern Indiana.  More than a dozen of his stories have appeared in anthologies and online.

Leave a Reply

