The Official Portal to the Madness of Dark Fiction Author Patrick C. Greene

Possessed or Dispossessed?

Author James Glass is joining me today to celebrate the release of his highly anticipated sequel to THE MURDERED METATRON.

both books mm mm2THE DISPOSSESSED is Book 2 in The Metatron Mysteries series, and I hear the early readers are already begging for Book 3!

***

Playing host to the voice of God can be a strain,

and as John Smith is discovering,

the source of many hangovers.

Add to that a missing demon, and it’s one hell of a week.

***

While I’ve got James here, I thought I’d ask a few questions about the writing process for #METATRON

What kind of music do you listen to for inspiration?

Ultimately, the music depends on the story. When writing the Metatron Mysteries the playlists ran the gamut from Big Band to Industrial. I believe each story has its own evolving soundtrack and feel to it, and it is my task to discover that playlist and put it together as I put pen to paper.

Have you ever started a project, felt it run out of steam and had to abandon it? 

Never have I abandoned a project – yet. Then again, I have not written many stories, so perhaps my time will come. There was a point during the writing of the second Metatron book where I was trapped in a type of limbo with my characters in a small town called Port Jervis, but that is about the closest I’ve come to abandoning all hope.

What’s the most shocking book or story you’ve ever read?

The closest I have come to being shocked by anything I’ve read was a very graphic scene in Lamia by Suzi M. To this day I cringe when I think about it.

Do you remember a particular moment or incident that made you decide to be a writer?

No moment in particular, no. I was born a writer, I suspect.

Do you have a certain space and time set aside for writing or is it more of a free-form process?

It is very much a freeform process because I go where the characters take me. Typically I begin writing in a notebook and eventually translate the written word to typed pages. The most recent example I can give of just how freeform the process is would be during the writing of The Murdered Metatron. I wrote an entire scene from the observation deck of the 44th New York Infantry Monument at Little Roundtop in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania after walking there from the center of town. While looking down on Devil’s Den I remembered a story I had overheard about the stream running through the area and the short story ‘The Vampire of Plum Run’ was born. I am never quite sure what ideas will appear from the ether, or which characters.

How would you describe your writing style?

Hard-boiled urban neo-Noir.

What other sorts of themes or genres would you like to explore?

I have explored erotica as well as horror and been told I am good at both. I do enjoy my detective stories, however.

Please briefly describe your path to publication.

Quite a happy accident, to be honest. I began with random work on Suzi M’s website as a resident writer, took a hiatus and wandered aimlessly for some time, and then it was as if I was resurrected somehow. I wrote the first installment of the Metatron Mysteries with no real expectations other than it would be my best-seller. Shortly after its publication I happened into a conversation with Jennifer Greene over at Sekhmet Press LLC and here we are.

Who are your favorite fictional antagonist and protagonist and what was it about them that struck a chord for you?

To be honest, there are so many I thoroughly enjoy it would be difficult to pick just a pair out and hold them aloft as The Favorite. It is a shifting sandstorm of preferences. The most memorable for me – and possibly because I know the authors quite well – would be Nemesis and Lamia from the Immortal War Series by Suzi M (for those who have read the series, you may recognize Azrael and the nod to Lamia within the pages of The Murdered Metatron), and Kain from the short story ‘Sundogs’ by Xircon (who subsequently makes an appearance in my next work). In Xircon’s novella ‘The Lazarus Stone’ there is a character – the main character, really – who has no name and can easily balance between both antagonist and protagonist at the same time. He fascinates me perhaps because he is a stark contrast to the over-the-top element in the previously mentioned Immortal War Series, the difference between gods versus gods and a man as a lonely god in an empty world.

Aside from writing, what is your favorite artistic medium?

I enjoy painting and playing the mandolin.

Mandolin! You never fail to surprise us James. Thank you so much for being here and I wish you the very best of luck in all of your endeavours and may The Dispossessed go straight to Number 1!

Discover more about James and THE METATRON MYSTERIES

facebook cover

James Glass

James Glass enjoys his privacy, but frequently finds that he plays an unwilling host to Xircon. When not visiting red light districts of red light cities, he can frequently be found contemplating life in the seediest of libraries.

One response

  1. Pingback: Possessed or Dispossessed? | xirconnia

Leave a Reply

